Call for nominations - 2023 TWAS-CAS Award and TWAS-named Awards : DEADLINE 15 MAY



The 2023 TWAS-Abdool Karim Award: This annual award is named after the distinguished TWAS President Professor Quahhaisha Abdool Karim.


  •  Eligible candidates: Women scientists national of a Least Developed African country.

  • The award recognizes scientific achievements in Biological Sciences.

  • The recipient receives USD 5,000.

  • For a list of eligible countries and for nominations, please visit:


The 2023 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award: This annual award, named after the distinguished TWAS Fellow Professor Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi, rotates among various fields of science.


  •  Eligible candidates: Women scientists from Scientifically and Technologically Lagging countries (STLCs)

  • In 2023 the award will recognize a women scientist from a STLC for achievements in Social Sciences (economics, politics, sociology).

  • The recipient receives USD 4,000.

  • For a list of STLCs, please visit:





The 2023 TWAS-CAS Young Scientists Award for Frontier Science: This annual award reflects the long-standing partnership between the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and TWAS. Former TWAS President Professor Bai Chunli played a central role in creating the award, funded by the Chinese technology company Lenovo.


  • Eligible candidates: Young scientists not older than 45 years of age, living and working in a developing country.

  • In 2023 the award will recognize a young scientist for achievements in mathematics and/or artificial intelligence (AI).

  • The recipient receives USD10,000.

  • For a list of eligible countries, please visit:



The 2023 TWAS─Atta-ur-Rahman Award in Chemistry: This award, named after Professor Atta-ur-Rahman, a distinguished Member of the Academy, is now sponsored by the the Searle Company Ltd.


  • Eligible candidates: Young chemists (not older than 40), national of a Scientifically and Technologically Lagging country (STLC).

  • All fields of Chemistry are eligible.

  • The recipient receives USD 5,000.

  • For a list of eligible countries please visit:




  Nominations for the above mentioned awards can only be submitted electronically through the on-line platform by clicking on the:


     "New Nomination"button, to start a new nomination;

     "Resume"button, to resume working on saved nominations.


These buttons are available from dedicated web pages relevant to each TWAS award, please refer to the above links. 


Nominations from jury members will not be considered.

The deadline to submit nominations is  15 May 2023.


Contact email:

  • keywords:


  • 086-10-82995124

  • 86-10-82995123


  • No. 40 Huayanli, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, P. O. Box 9804, Beijing 100028, P. R. China